Returns all questions and responses for the year.
Cal I apply the Sainsbury formula considering reach 3+?
The Sainsbury formula is a very early tool (70+ years) used for combining reaches, based on simple probability. It is not really suitable for building frequency distribution combinred reach levels across media or vehicles.
Is there a list of the U.S. cable networks available on the Telmar platform? Also is there a coverage threshold for inclusion?
The most extensive publicly available listing of ad-supported networks is at the Video Ad Bureau:
If, instead, you mean what networks are built into Telmar’s software, please contact your Telmar account rep.
How do you combine Broadcast and several
soft cable zones reach and frequency?
The Query seems to assume that local market (DMA) reach is under discussion.
First calculate the combined broadcast reach and cable reach in each zone, assuming the broadcast reach is flat across the DMA.
Then you would do a weighted average of the reaches in each zone, along with the broadcast reach alone in the remaining (non-active zone) DMA.
Your weights will be the population of each zone and the non-active area. The GRPs must be calculated by summing all the impressions and dividing by the DMA total. Frequency is the GRP divided by the calculated reach.
What resource can tell me how many people who read publication a, also read publication b.
What are the advantages and disadvantages of CPT and CPRP for evaluating efficiency of a campaign?
First, since you are using abbreviations that are not standard U.S. usage, the Guru will have to assume that by CPT you mean “cost per Thousand impressions” (US = CPM), and by CPRP you mean “Cost per Rating Point” (US = CPP).
Both are measures of efficiency. They connect through the target population; CPRP is the cost of a quantity of impressions equal to 1% of the target universe. If you are working in only one geography, either one is equally useful. However, if your goals were in terms of Reach, for example, CPRP could be more useful as reach is typically calculated from gross rating points. If you were working with various geographies, as in a plan including spot TV or other local media, CPT would allow you to readily consider how the media in different markets compare in delivering boxcars of impressions.
How do I calculate the video completion rate?
Video Completion Rate = Number of seconds viewed ÷ number of seconds of total content. So if 10 seconds of a 20 second video is watched, there is a video completion rate of 50%
What is the significance of achieving a certain number (say 500, 1000, 1500) of GRPs for any TV ad campaign
GRPs express the number of exposures of the message (or impressions) as a percentage of the target population. 500 GRP means the impressions are 5 times as great as the target population.
Do you have any information on how many different creative spots you can air during a media campaign? Is there any history or media math?
There is theoretically no upper limit on how many copy variants you can air. How many you should use as a lower limit depends on various issues.
in short, it’s a case by case analysis.
By what method are MRI and comScore databases integrated in Telmar?
Questions about the mechanics of propritary software or about proprietary databases are best answered by your account rep at the vendor you are buying from.
How do I calculate the number of people reached through a TV campaign?
Why Reach vs TRPs curves are building differently in different countries? Why do you need more TRPs in one country than in another to achieve the same level of Reach? What are all the factors influencing this and how? Thank you.
When we say “reach curves” we are really talking about the formula to graph reach growth (the curve) on the vertical axis against TRP as a horizontal axis.
In the US itself, this curve looks different for different dayparts of TV. Reach is a matter of comparing gross audience versus unduplicated audience. So the viewing habits of a population, the number of different viewing choices, the cume potential (what portion of the audience watches at all) all come into play. For the simplest example, 100 TRP all on one cable network have a much lower reach than 100 TRP distributed across 10 cable nets and two broadcast nets. Considering different countries, which have different structures and viewing behaviors, will lead to different results. Similarly, US Hispanic TV reach vs TRP is different than the general market.
How do I forecast/estimate reach of a TV campaign? I have used Telmar to calculate the reach for a one month campaign on Nat Geo based on specific spots/dayparts – these will be the same for the entire 6 month campaign. I now need to extrapolate this one month reach to 6 months to get a forecast of total reach over 6 months.
Simply enter the entire 6 month schedule into the same system to project the 6 month reach
Is there a formula to reach and frequency for my radio and TV buy?
The Guru understands that you mean a formula to combine the reaches of your radio and TV schedules.
The logic is that each individual reach expresses the probability that that schedule will be exposed to the target audience. That is, a radio reach of 40 means there is a 40% probability that target audience members are exposed. So to combine the reaches of the two media, you can’t simply add their reaches. Two Probabilities can be multiplied to determine their net. Multiplying the probabilities tells you the chance that both would occur. But combined reach is the probability that one medium OR the other will be exposed to the target. So you need to find the probability that neither medium reaches the target. The remaining people are the net reached. If radio reach is 40 and TV reach is 65, then 60% are not reached by radio and 35% are not reached by TV. So 60% X 35% = 21% NOT reached, leaving a combined reach of 79% (100% – 21% = 79%). Then the GRP are simply summed and the total GRP are divided by the combined reach to determine combined frequency.
Hi! My client just ran a local television campaign at 60 A25-54 GRPs per week. He now wants to run a national campaign at the same 60 A25-54 GRPs per week since it was successful in the local campaign. And he does not want to do local anymore. How do I explain that a local buy and a national buy are not the same? And how do I translate the local GRPs to a national campaign? Thanks for your help!!
This is a reversal of a common question.
The issue that you need to explain is that when you buy 60 National GRP the delivery in local markets can vary considerably depending on the market, the daypart mix, etc.
There are Nielsen tools, for example, that can look at a national schedule and determine the DMA by DMA GRP delivery. The trick is to buy the right level of National GRP and supplement with local buys in underdelivered markets to even out at 60. There will always be some overage in some markets, so you need to determine what national level to buy to minimize cost of required local “fill.” Perhaps a national buy of 50 plus spot fill is right. Or perhaps another national level.
In summary, you can’t get 60 evenly everywhere without some local media.
I would love an updated opinion on the relative value of bookend :15’s on TV and cable. Our agency works with several media buying firms and I have long questioned whether or not bookends are really just a way to give the impression that you’re delivering more eyeballs. My feeling is that it doesn’t increase reach because each :15 theoretically has the same set of audience watching it. So you’re getting increased frequency, which is important, but in terms of just sheer reach and visibility of the message, bookended points wouldn’t seem to have the power as non-bookended. I’ve had media buyers who don’t allocate like this tell me they think it’s stretching the truth and other buyers who use this strategy tell me that it’s perfectly normal and advisable.
And today, we all understand the large percentage of time-shifting going on and the number of people who fast forward through breaks, and the percentage of consumers dropping traditional TV services like satellite and cable, so it would seem to me that bookends would be becoming even less appealing. So what then happens is that Clients agree to buy say 100 TRPs to support a campaign but the media actually delivers quite a bit less than that. And fewer points typically leads to less effective advertising. So it must be the creative!
You seem to be mixing issues, “time-shifting going on and the number of people who fast forward through breaks, and the percentage of consumers dropping traditional TV services like satellite and cable” do not affect TRPs purchased , per se. The latest ratings measurement techniques account for non-exposure due to fast-forwarding or non viewing because of cord-cutting. So the benefit of added frequency can be real.
The bookends problem is whether two :15s vs one :30 for the same cost has any benefit. As you note, there is no real reach increase but substantial frequency increase. But there could be a real reach increase if those :15s aired separately instead of in bookends. So it’s a matter of setting goals. Bookends can reinforce a message but splitting :15s can broaden reach.
Would you be open to create a \”Guru Guide\” or \”Best of the Guru\” as a reference book/PDF? I would buy!
The Guru is pleased to tell you that the book is available! The Guru has personally sent you a copy.
Is there a way to calculate what the average primetime (US) unique viewership is for the major conservative sites, like Fox News for example? If so, can you supply?
If you go to the Nielsen N-Power site you will find the tool for such an analysis.
What is affinity
Affinity is a relationship between the consumer and the brand. For example, a company may issue a credit card with their brand associated, such as a United Airlines Visa Card. This is an affinity card. So connection of brand and consumer is affinity.
How are cost per point and gross impressions the same?
They are not the same at all, but they are related. Suppose you buy an ad for $1000 and it has an audience of 1,000,000 in a market of 5,000,000 population.
So it has gross impressions of 1,000,000. It has gross rating points of 5.0 (1,000,000 impressions ÷ 5,000,000 population), so its cost per point is $5.00 ($1000 cost ÷ 5 points).
Media guru, i have one question 1.how to calculate avg frequency
Average frequency is the relationship between reach and GRP, its simplest calculation is GRP ÷ Reach. But this assumes you already have those two data. Depending upon what data you have, the process to determining average frequency differs.